4500 calories on Thanksgiving Day?

OK, I know it’s almost Thanksgiving Day. How can I possibly post an article with a headline like that?

I’ll tell you in a minute.

Thanksgiving just happens to be my absolute favorite holiday. I’ve even figured out why- and a couple of years ago I shared my thoughts with my Toastmaster’s Club.  I commented that Thanksgiving is about giving thanks, being grateful, expressing gratitude. It boils down to celebrating an attitude: pretty tricky to commercialize an attitude!

To my way of thinking, gratitude is an expression of saying ‘thank you’ to someone for something.  To me, the Someone I say ‘Thank You’ to is God, my Heavenly Father…and what I express gratitude for are the many good things He has given me throughout my life.

Besides the meaning of Thanksgiving, it has always been a time of year that has fostered a gathering of family.  When I was growing up, the family got together at Nana’s house- and we thoroughly enjoyed a traditional dinner of turkey, dressing, stuffing, sweet potatoes with butter and marshmallows, mashed potatoes, corn, waldorf salad…and then a pie or two for dessert.  I loved it all- and thoroughly enjoyed all of the food- and ate as much as I wanted to.  After dessert, the family rule kicked in: If you didn’t help in the kitchen before dinner, then you were involved in the clean-up.  I think I got sucked into working both ends of the deal more than once!

The headliner, 4500 calories on Thanksgiving Day, is the second piece of information in a blog that was just posted today titled Healthy Balancing Act. Here’s the opening sentence: “Believe it or not, the average person may consume enough fat at a holiday meal to equal three sticks of butter.”

Whoa! That is disgusting! Calories are one thing, for sure, and you know that includes more than a normal amount of fat…but three sticks of butter: Nobody can put that picture comfortably out of their mind. Go ahead and try!

Fortunately, Nina Fuller who wrote and posted the article, included not only the caloric intake of the food that I listed above.  She also included ‘better options,’ and, if you are ready for it, a third listing of ‘a much healthier plate!

Nina makes a great point in that you don’t have to be deprived of the foods you love. But it would be in your best interest to have an idea of the size of the portions that you are eating.

These next six weeks are not the time to try to lose weight and inches.  Maintenance is a great goal! In fact I commend my brother Dan and niece Jaimie for taking the time to do a ‘cleanse’ last month in preparation for the holidays.  I’m confident that neither one is going to ‘pig out’ with poor food choices- not after taking the time to do a 10-day fast. Way to go Dan and Jaimie!

Here’s another observation:  our family food choices have changed over the last few years, and we are all much more conscious of offering good choices. My sister Debbie and sister-in-law Terry are always trying new healthy recipes.  Extra good news: the recipes taste great (at least they always do by the time I show up!)

This year Ed and I are heading over to Chicago for Thanksgiving where we will enjoy some family time, gratitude time…and healthy food.  No 4500 calorie meals for us!

Remember, you always have a choice.

What choices are already in place for you to enjoy a healthier Thanksgiving? Share something with us in the comments below.

1 Response to “4500 calories on Thanksgiving Day?”



  1. 1 Only 4 more days! « Your Wellness Lifestyle Trackback on November 20, 2011 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

