She’s 87 and Quite a Lady! Conclusion

(Conclusion of my inspirational Toastmaster talk)

When I visit, mom always had- and still has- a list of little things for me to do for her. You have to understand that Mom gets assistance from the landscape workers; my sister and niece help her—my brother and his wife help. You see, Mom can keep a crew busy all the time, regardless of the season! But there is always a list for me.

“Mom, what’s on your list?”

“Just a couple of things- only if you have time.”

The items on the list  range from taking things up into the attic for storage, bringing things down as the seasons change, putting together the fountain pump so that it would work, getting the right size piece of tubing from the hardware store for the project, etc. spreading woodchips for a garden path…you get the idea. Oh, and I always have to measure mom with my tape measure, measure her body fat % and BMI with my hand-held monitor…then we record it in her little notebook set aside for that purpose. You see, she daily wears a clicker- a pedometer that measures her steps throughout the day. She records her daily total. The measurements that we do together let her know the benefit of her fitness choices! Would that all my clients were as conscientious as Mom!

So what do I get – what can you get – from this lady’s life?

First, don’t think that getting old has to be boring and dull. In sharing all the different activities that my mom chooses to do, I realize that the variety of people in mom’s life and her service to others are keeping her vibrant.

Second, realizing my mom’s love language is quality time, phone calls and visits from me have to be a priority. Remember, typically, it is not what we do that we regret, but rather what we didn’t do. My bottom line- don’t let irregular talks or visits be actions that I regret when Mom goes home to be with Jesus.

Lastly, my Mom is a great role model for how an older woman should spend her time. She is daily taking responsibility for all aspects of her health. Spiritually, she prays, she reads and studies the Bible. Physically, Mom eats the best she can, takes great supplements (she is actually one of my very best clients!)- and exercises daily. Financially, she spends wisely, pays her bills on time, and is very generous to her family and specific organizations. Mentally and emotionally, she interacts with others daily, serves other people’s needs on a very regular basis, and operates with a clear conscience in her relationships. Scripture tells older women that they are to  “be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be dishonored.”

What about you? Do you have a godly mother as a role model? Have you expressed your appreciation to her? Are you a godly role model for someone in your life? Are you making choices daily that will allow you to be here with a sound body and a sound mind to influence future generations?

I’m so very thankful for my mom, Ruth.

I love you mom- and I’m posting this so that you and others will know how very much I appreciate who you are right now. You are 87—and quite a lady. When I’m 87, I want to be like you.

(Some comments I got from fellow Toastmasters: “Your mom is quite a lady!”

“I regret that my grandmother is not as active as your mother…”

“So obviously loving and sincere. What an inspirational lady, your mom…”

“I’d love to meet her and have her energy!”)

Leave a Reply

