But I’ve tried this before!

Over the past eleven years, I have watched some people respond very quickly to the changes they needed to make in order to get what they want- and what do you know, they got what they wanted!

Others have ‘tried a new routine or program’ but they can’t seem to stick with it. Others try something new every few weeks, knowing they need to do something different, but never seeming to find the right “something.”

It sounds like some people have been living the definition of insanity: continuing to do the same thing, and expecting different results.

So if we have indeed come to grips with the necessity of change to actually get something different from what we have- whether professionally, relationally, financially, emotionally, spiritually- why can’t we actually DO things differently?

Let me share something personally that is making me change how I’m thinking and even spending money. On July 17, in Gilbert, AZ, our first grandson, Greyson, was born. When I made the airline ticket reservation in early summer, I got a great deal on a round trip ticket. When I made the ticket reservation for this October trip, the cost was almost 50% more. I hesitated…it seemed like quite a bit more…but I had made a commitment to visit every two months (kids grow and change so quickly!)… and so the debate went  in my mind. Interesting though, this was a very short debate.

Why?

Consider these sentiments expressed by Michael Oliver, a business consultant and author in a recent newsletter.

So where does the desire come from?

Well, essentially the desire to change comes from being sufficiently dissatisfied with present circumstances and being prepared to do something about it.

This desire comes primarily from an inner emotional need, not the obvious outer need such as “needing more money.”

Oliver was talking about the intense desire necessary to make the decision to start your own business. I believe the same intensity is necessary for any change.

In my case, the necessary change was parting with more money than planned.

And guess what?

I made the decision to purchase the ticket.

You see, my dissatisfaction with my distance from Greyson, and my ability to assist my kids when Erin went back to work, was great, and I was prepared to do something about it.

In my business training, we talk about having a strong WHY, strong enough to carry you through the days when ‘the cost seems too high.’

What about you?

What change have you been putting off…better eating choices, more activity, losing inches, losing pounds, more emotional balance, more family time, providing better for your family…?

Here are two great questions to ask yourself:

What will it cost me if I don’t ——-?

What rewards will I get if I do—-?

Let me know how it goes.

If there is anything I can do to help, just let me know:

coachmari@sbcglobal.net; 614.888.6508.

0 Responses to “But I’ve tried this before!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

