Why Am I Doing This Business?

 In January, the gym was packed…now nearing the end of April, the numbers have definitely thinned out…and I don’t think it is because so many people have accomplished their goals! Perhaps some of them never discovered their personal why: a strong enough reason for persevering and not quitting!

When I started my business as a personal wellness coach, my mentors told me I needed to know why I was doing this business.  It seemed that knowing the reasons why would help me see the benefits of persevering. So I started the process of defining my why.

Two reasons immediately came to mind that were in alignment with who I was.

First, a spiritual reason. As a Christian, I believe that my body is a temple of the Holy Spirit and as such, I have a spiritual responsibility to glorify, or bring praise to, God, through my body.  Purposefully sharing that message would allow me to be a blessing, to bring something good, to others.   This was certainly a great reason.

Second, on a very practical level, I looked at what had I been trained to do. My 10 years of experience as a physical education teacher and coach would certainly give me immediate credibility. I had a desire to help people get and stay healthy by making good lifestyle choices. A business in the entirely new wellness industry was a perfect fit for my degree and personal lifestyle.

Intellectually, I observed older friends who simply couldn’t function as they once did.  Although Ed and I were not in bad shape, I realized that this business could actually help us grow old gracefully! I could learn strategies for anti-aging, and put them into practice. We could personally benefit. Aha-  a new reason for the business.

Financially, the business model made sense to me.  I would be paid to stay healthy and teach and help other people do the same thing.  Cool. I didn’t have to go back to school and get another degree…I didn’t have to upgrade my wardrobe…I didn’t have to commute to and from work. Wow, getting a paycheck, assisting with family expenses while Ed was in school, but still being my own boss. Sounded perfect!

Collectively, I believed I had defined some good reasons for starting this business.

However, after several years, I sensed I needed a deeper why to make the necessary changes to move myself to the next level of leadership.  It took me some time, but I finally got an answer.

(Continued in next entry)

 

 

0 Responses to “Why Am I Doing This Business?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

