One activity- Three benefits

Being in Columbus, OH, has made me a fair-weather walker. That is, I walk outside when the weather is fair. I dislike the cold weather challenges (wind, snow, ice) that are characteristic of our winters. So for many months out of the almost seven years we have lived here, I have been walking at a nearby mall: it’s cheap (free), warm and dry (which is nice), and attracts nice, friendly people with whom I talk and walk.

But I have known for a while I needed to ‘up the ante.’

So for the first time in my life, I joined a gym. In January.  (It’s less crowded now than when I started.) I’ve been walking inside. The good news about walking at the gym is that you can also add other needed activities to your routine at the same place. More about that later.

I do want to extol the benefits of walking. A daily walk will help you

control cholesterol

reduce blood pressure

reduce your waist

Walking is easy to do- no special training.

It’s inexpensive- just have some good walking shoes.

It provides flexibility in scheduling- can be done by yourself or with someone and can be done at basically any time of day.

Walking gives you time to think, to pray, to practice a presentation (that’s what I did yesterday).

When you finish, you know that you have done something good for yourself.

Do something you enjoy, though, if you do not choose walking. It could be running, cycling, ballroom dancing,snow shoeing (not snow mobiling!), etc. You get the idea. 

An article I read this morning gave more good news about the overwhelming benefits of exercise: you can read about it here:  http://news.yahoo.com/s/livescience/20090306/sc_livescience/exercisethebestmedicine  

What are you doing for your daily 15-45 minutes? 

Moving, I hope!

0 Responses to “One activity- Three benefits”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

